Skip to main content
District Court of
Western Australia
  • Small Text
  • Medium Text
  • Large Text

Welcome to the District Court of Western Australia home page

The District Court is an intermediate trial court placing it between the Magistrates Court and the Supreme Court in the Western Australian courts hierarchy.

The District Court deals with serious criminal offences including serious assaults, sexual assaults, serious fraud and commercial theft, burglary and drug offences. The District Court also determines civil claims up to $750,000 and has unlimited jurisdiction in claims for damages for personal injury.

Information on this site is provided for research and public information purposes.

We hope you find the site interesting and informative.

Quick Links

Judgments eLodgment Court Listings Upcoming Events Surveys


Increase in District Court Fees
District Court’s fees have increased as of Sunday, 1 July 2018. [29/06/2018]

Notice to Practitioners- Defective EFT Certificate
By the District Court Rules 2005 rule 37 unless otherwise ordered the plaintiff is required to enter the case for trial within 120 days after the first defence is filed. [29/05/2018]

Notice to Practitioners - Criminal PD & C to P
The Consolidated Practice Directions & Circulars to Practitioners – Criminal Jurisdiction has been updated on 12 March 2018. The amendments relate to Circular to Practitioners 2 and Circular to Practitioners 3 as follows: [13/03/2018]

Consolidated PD & C to P Criminal Jurisdiction
The District Court has now combined all of it's Practice Directions and Circular to Practitioners in relation to the criminal jurisdiction into one consolidated document. [28/11/2017]

Update eLodgment for District Court
eLodgment is now up and running and available for the lodgement of documents once again. [03/04/2017]

Notice to Practitioners - Circuit Hearings

The Court presently conducts circuit trial listing hearings (TLHs) by videolink (Albany, Esperance, Kalgoorlie, South Hedland and Karratha) or telephone conference (Broome, Derby, Kununurra, Carnarvon, Geraldton, Bunbury and Busselton).